Thursday, November 15, 2007

North Carolina: Mecklenburg County

Mecklenburg Co., North Carolina was formed 1762 from Anson County

1777 Liberty Hall Academy was granted a charter by NC Legislature. John Simpson, Thomas Reese, Waightstill Avery and others were trustees. Dr. McWhorter declined the presidency (Sketches of Western North Carolina by C.L. Hunter, page 154.)

1800 census John Simson, Joseph Simpson, Nathaniel Simpson, Thomas Simpson, James Simison

1801 James Simeson Jr. (NCGSJ v. 2 #1, Jan. 1976, p. 11 estate records). John Simeson, admr.

1810 Tax List: James Simpson, William Simpson, Thomas and John Simpson, Samuel Simpson (NCGSJ XXI No. 3)

1815 Tax List: Samuel Simpson in Capt. Wilson’s Company, John Simpson and Thomas Simpson in Capt. Coburn’s Company, William Simpson and James Simpson in Capt.Laird H. Harris’ Company (NCGSJ Vol. XX, No. 3 pp. 8, 18, 19.)

1828 William Simpson, 1828 (NCGSJ v. 2 #1, Jan. 1976, p. 11 estate records) John and James Simpson administrators. Sale of a slave boy named Washington.

No comments:

There was an error in this gadget